Goodreads Book Tag

Posted: August 1, 2016 in Book Tag
Tags:

goodreads.jpg

Ashley over at Socially Awkward Bookworm tagged everyone in her Goodreads Book Tag post. If you haven’t seen her blog before, you should totally check it out!

Anyhoo, I really enjoyed reading her answers to the Goodreads Tag questions, so I decided to answer them, too.

What is the last book you marked as “READ”?

Change Places With Me by Lois Metzger. You can read my review of it on my blog here or my Goodreads here! This great new character-driven YA SF clearly marks Lois Metzger as an experienced storyteller. She writes short stories and edits anthologies, accomplishments which explain her talent for writing tight, tense prose. This short book compelled me to read quickly on toward the plot secret. 4/5 STARS.

changeplaceswithme

What are you currently reading?

I actually already finished YA Fantasy Children of Icarus by Caighlan Smith, but I haven’t marked it as read, yet, because I’m still editing the review. (Review to come this Thursday, Aug. 4th! [Review now available!]) I was excited to read this offering from young Caighlan Smith because (1) I love watching a writer’s talent develop and (2) the book was published (today, Aug. 1st!) by Switch Press, who also published Philip Reeve’s Railhead, an excellent YA SF/F about sentient, space-traveling trains.

COI

I’m also currently reading The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley, a High Fantasy published (and marketed to both children and adults) in 1987 with an impressive 4.23 overall rating on Goodreads. I’ve been savoring it because it’s AMAZING. [Review now available!]

The-Blue-Sword

And And I Darken by Kiersten White, a YA Historical that I’m sure  you’ve heard about. This book is buzzworthy for good reason. [Review now available!]

What was the last book you marked as “TO READ”?

Future Shock by Elizabeth Briggs.

FutureShock.jpg

I found this YA time travel SF while I was book-shopping for my library’s teen section; after seeing all its positive reviews, I knew I had to read it.

What book do you plan on reading next?

The Thief of Kalimar by Graham Diamond.

I saw, on Netgalley, that this 1979 adult High Fantasy was recently republished by Endeavor Press (a small UK publisher doing some interesting stuff, as noted by The Guardian) and it looked like a fun read. My review of it should be up sometime during the week of Aug. 15th-21st!

Do you use the star rating system?

Yes, and I add half-stars.

Are you doing the 2016 Reading Challenge?

Nah. Maybe I’ll do it just to clean off my “to-read” shelf, at some point, but for now I’m pleased with my progress. At this point, I’m busy enough making time to write my stories in between reading, reviewing and working!

Do you have a wishlist?

Indeed. It includes all of Dorothy L. Sayers’ hilarious Lord Peter Wimsey mysteries.

LordPeterWimsey.jpg

Dorothy Sayers also translated Dante’s Divine Comedy, and I want to buy vols. II & III, Purgutory & Paradise, since I’m enjoying Hell so much. (Well, that sounds weird, but WHATEVA.)

HellParadise

And, finally, books II & III of Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn trilogy. (I already own book I.)

mistborn-covers

What book do you plan on buying next?

All of them, as soon as I get giftcards! Haha. I’ll probably start with the Mistborns, since I want to review those.

What is your favorite quote?

Oh my, that’s an impossible question; but I’ll do my best. Faith inspires me very much, so let’s go with Sherlock Holmes on Providence:

“There is nothing in which deduction is so necessary as religion…It can be built up as an exact science by the reasoner. Our highest assurance of the goodness of Providence seems to me to rest in the flowers. All other things, our powers, our desires, our food, are all really necessary for our existence in the first instance. But this rose is an extra. Its smell and its color are an embellishment of life, not a condition of it. It is only goodness which gives extras, and so I say again that we have much to hope from the flowers.”
― Arthur Conan Doyle, The Naval Treaty

Who are your favorite authors?

Dorothy L. Sayers, Madeleine L’Engle, Flannery O’Connor & Jane Austen!

Why are all my favorite authors dead? *sigh* And female!

Okay, just to round things out, a living male author: Brandon Sanderson.

Are you a part of any Goodreads groups?

Yes, “Nothing But Book Challenges.” I’m afraid I’m not a very active member, but I do enjoy seeing what everyone is reading. Occasionally I accept one of their challenges, to liven things up. I like their Netgalley boards.

What could Goodreads do better?

I love Goodreads, but I don’t like the look of the reviews when I share them on Facebook. I think the Facebook versions are ugly and difficult for my readers to manage.

I tag NeverSeenAnEvergreen, The Critiquing Chemist and anyone else who enjoys Goodreads 🙂 Thanks again for the tag, Socially Awkward Bookworm!

Comments
  1. See a couple of not-seen-before covers on here! Also, I need to read something by Jane Austen. I love my classics, and apparently, her books are an essential.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Christy Luis says:

    I am a total book cover lover! 😀

    Jane Austen’s books are the most enjoyable canon-classics, imo. Intelligent, humorous social satire. You’ll love her! Let me know if you end up reading one of her works! 🙂

    Like

  3. Ashley says:

    Change Places with Me sounds really interesting! I really want to get And I Darken. I actually had a copy in my hands on Sunday, but then I ended up putting back on the store shelves. Now I regret not getting it, lol. Mistborn was SO good! I have the next two books in the series and I can’t wait to read them!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Christy Luis says:

      Yeah! I listened to the Mistborns and loved them so much, I decided to buy and reread then them before I reviewed then! I want to see how he set everything up.

      And I Darken is amazing so far. I can’t wait to review it! I hope you can get your hands on a copy bc I bet you’d enjoy it, too. It’s really one of the better YAs I’ve read, lately.

      Change Places With Me is very interesting. I really loved the way the author built up the stakes and the secret. She’s a very talented writer.

      Thanks for reading and for the comment! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Jen says:

    Future Shock by Elizabeth Briggs does sound SO good! Here’s hoping we both love that series!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

