WWW Wednesday #3

Posted: October 26, 2016 in WWW Wednesday
Tags: ,

background

WWW Wednesday is a weekly MEME hosted by Taking on a World of Words. I got the idea from Socially Awkward Bookworm. The three W’s are these:

What are you currently reading?

What did you recently finish reading?

What do you think you’ll read next?

Click the book titles for more information about each!

Recently Finished

I recently reviewed three sci-fis: Larry Niven’s classic novella, “The Magic Goes Away,” a sci-fi lover’s fantasy from the ’70s; the brand new, completely entertaining space opera, Forsaken Skies by D. Nolan Clark; and installment # 3 of the YA Dystopian serial, Remade: Home, Perilous Home. Click the titles to read the reviews!

I listened to these three on audio and I can’t wait to share my thoughts with you!

Scarlet follows Cinder  in Marissa Meyer’s wildly popular YA sci-fi series, The Lunar Chronicles. This second installment re-imagines the Little Red Riding Hood fairy tale. I’ll be posting my review tomorrow! (And here’s my review of book I, Cinder!)

I’ve been on a Jim Butcher kick, thanks to some insistent readers friends. The Aeronaut’s Windlass review should be up on the blog next week. I actually started the Dresden Files as a teenager, but I gave up halfway through number three (because I was a romance junkie and I just didn’t find Susan that interesting). So I recently decided to try the audio version of Grave Peril! Review coming soon!

Currently Reading

I’ve been waiting and hoping to fit The Eterna Files into my reading time for weeks and I finally got the opportunity to start it yesterday. Big thanks to Tor for the sweepstakes giveaway of Leanna Renee Hieber’s books! Review coming next week.

I immediately jumped into Jim Butcher’s Summer Knight (Dresden Files #4), after finishing book #3. My car rides to work are fun anyway, since I love my library job; but James Marsters brightens even that sunny commute. Review should be coming in a few weeks.

I recently loved and reviewed Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn #4, The Alloy of Law, and I just started #5, Shadows of Self, for my bed time reading. I’m already hooked!

TBR Next

I’m pretty psyched about this batch of arcs. I mean, who wouldn’t be?

I actually got access to Ibenus on Netgalley, but somehow the arc never made it to my Kindle, so I started the ebook on Hoopla. After realizing I couldn’t take notes on the Hoopla ebook, however, I decided to order a hard copy for my library. *Fingers crossed* that it comes in very shortly!

I heard of Crosstalk thanks to the TeacherofYA and her sweet review blog (which you should totally check out if you’re a YA fan!). I’m so excited to jump in!

I requested Every Hidden Thing the second it became available on Netgalley (because…Kenneth Oppel) and I was just recently granted access. I’m sooo excited to read it! Ditto for The Rains by Gregg Hurwitz!

And that’s about it for my reading list. What about you? Have you read any of these? Are you excited about something on your TBR, too? Please do link your most recent roundup posts to mine so I can read them!

Comments
  1. I am curious about Remade, though I’m terrible with keeping up with serials. I usually wait until the entire “season” is done to read it all in one go, so I’ll be looking forward to hear what you think as you keep reading.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Christy Luis says:

      Thanks! I’m just starting the fourth installment and hoping I can catch up on the serial, myself! I have a feeling that the “real story” starts at the fifth installment, so I’m pretty excited to get to that one.

      Like

  2. I have been meaning to check out Brandon Sanderson for a while (and I think I might have mentioned that to you??) but also I have heard of Jim Butcher and need to look him up as well!

    Kenneth Opal was a childhood favourite author of mine that I should likely get back into, so thanks for reminding me about him!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Christy Luis says:

      So many books!! Haha. I understand, trust me. Although the first 2 books of the Dresden Files didn’t appeal to me, when I read them a few years ago, I really enjoyed book 3. And Sanderson is just awesome!

      That’s so cool that you like Kenneth Oppel, too! I really enjoyed Airborn, a few years back, and the premise of this new novel just grabbed me. I’m so excited about it 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. nikihawkes says:

    Some good titles on your list! Are you enjoying Shadows for Self? It really made me laugh. 🙂 also, I haven’t read Kenneth oppel but have had a series by him on my shelves for years… It’s a middle grade about bats haha. Looking forward to your thoughts on him. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Christy Luis says:

      I’m liking Shadows of Self even better than the Alloy of Law! The end of book I got me super excited about them.

      I really enjoyed Oppel’s book “Airborne,” but I haven’t read his MG before! I’m finishing Crosstalk tonight, so I should get to start Every Hidden Thing tomorrow. I’m so excited! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

