WWW Wednesday #4

Posted: December 14, 2016 in WWW Wednesday
Tags:

backgroundWWW Wednesday is a weekly MEME hosted by Taking on a World of Words. I got the idea from Socially Awkward Bookworm. The three W’s are these:

What are you currently reading?

What did you recently finish reading?

What do you think you’ll read next?

And I’m adding my own section to this list:

What have you recently reviewed?

Click the book titles for more information about each!

Recently Reviewed

The top spot goes to the charming contemporary sci-fi,

Crosstalk was closely followed by the fabulously immersive travel fantasy,

But really, I loved almost my entire list! It was a terrific crop, authors. Keep up the good work! And here they are:

Recently Finished

A Circle of Quiet by Madeleine L’Engle: Open Road Integrated Media recently republished Madeleine L’Engle’s four Crosswicks Journal memoirs. As I saw book I, A Circle of Quiet, pop up on Netgalley, I turned to look at my bookshelves and saw the 1972 softcover edition sitting on my shelves, as yet unread. I had bought it at a library book sale several years before, and there it still sat.

It’s time, I thought. Providence! Madeleine L’Engle wrote such children’s classics and Newberry winners as A Wrinkle in Time and A Ring of Endless Light. She was a staple of my childhood and teenhood reading binges and remains one of my top 4 favorite authors ever. I’ll be reviewing A Circle of Quiet later this week!

Winter by Marissa Meyer: And next week, you can look for my review of Winter, the final installment of Marissa Meyer‘s spunky Lunar Chronicles!

Currently Reading & TBR Next

I’m continuing my Brandon Sanderson reading spree with Elantris as my bedtime reading, and I’m inhaling The Way of Kings during the daylight hours. I’m going to take the two weeks of Christmas and the New Year off from blogging so I can really focus on finishing the Stormlight Archives and start Arcanum Unbounded immediately following the Christmas and New Year celebrations. I love these holidays and I spend them with family and friends, usually in vast board game competitions with my husband, his brothers and our devious grandmother. (She cheats, I tell you. 90-something is not to old to cheat!) Anyway, after that, I’m planning to dive into a Christmas haul and enjoy the fruits of finally finishing The Way of Kings and Words of Radiance: Arcanum Unbounded. Phew, that’s a lot of pages, but I’m determined! And I’ll talk to you more on the other side of winter.

That’s it for this girl. What are you reading? Looking forward to reading? Have you recently reviewed something that’s still on your mind? Tell me, tell me! And share links to your blog posts. I love to see what you’re all reading!

Comments
  1. Haven’t read Way of Kings or Radiance (it’ll be decades before I start that series), but Sanderson I one of my favorite authors, and I thought Elantris was excellent! Stated up (too) late every night I was reading it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Christy Luis says:

      I’m loving Elantris sooo much! It’s definitely hard to close the book for the night…one of these nights, I may just keep reading, hehe.

      I just heard that he finished #3 Oathbringer! So yes, still decades away for the last book, I’m sure. Ah, well. It’s nice to have something to look forward to 😉

      Like

  2. I approve of your Brandon Sanderson binge! And yes, that is indeed a lot of pages, but hopefully you’ll enjoy them all 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jen says:

    I hope you were able to win some board games when you played against your Grandmother. That’s hilarious that she cheats. What’s your favorite board game to play?
    And I can’t wait to see what you thought of Winter! Good luck with your reading and hope you have a fabulous Christmas break!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Christy Luis says:

      I only won one game, but it was really fun anyway! Haha. Yeah, G-ma alone makes them worth playing. My husband and I love Settlers of Catan and Ticket to Ride, and I just bought him a game called Cargo Noir for Christmas…there are so many cool ones! 🙂

      Aww, thanks! 😀 I had been planning to post my review of Winter by now, but I got too distracted with holiday fun! Next week I should be able to start posting reviews again. I hope you had an awesome Christmas, too!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jen says:

        I have never even heard of those games! I’m going to have to research them on Amazon. I usually play the boys games with them – we have been playing some of their new games like Monopoly Junior (I’m horrible at that game but good at the adult Monopoly, go figure lol), Sequence and a few others since Christmas. So I’m glad you at least won one game, woot, you’re doing better than me ha!
        Enjoy holiday fun while we have it! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

