New Year Update & Book Haul

Posted: January 3, 2017 in Book Haul, Booktalk, TBR
Tags:

15875916_389391268067160_1257812332621332480_n

Hello friends! After a two-week blogging break, it’s time for an update! Over the holidays, I spent a lot of time working on my own writing project, which involves a lot of research about Mesoamerican civilizations. But I also finished reading several novels!

Upcoming Reviews15802201_1845155642396224_8323367369464348672_n

I made a goal to read the two published volumes of the Stormlight Archives by Brandon Sanderson over the holidays. While I only finished  The Way of Kings completely [Review coming next week!], I am about 200 pages into Words of Radiance and will be happily enjoying the audiobook as the blog returns to our regularly scheduled programming.

Other Books I finished: 

I actually finished Winter before the blog break, but I never posted the promised review! It really will be coming this week 🙂

Book Haul

15801856_1475219132506700_9091014605219561472_n.jpg

Next, I wanted to share the gorgeous books I’ve gotten recently. My husband actually bought me the original Mistborn trilogy a while ago, but I hadn’t ever posted pictures of them. Arcanum Unbounded (!!) and The Exiled Queen (The Exiles #2) by Cinda Williams Chima were Christmas presents!

15803697_1584420198241478_6224225111684153344_n

I also recently picked up three pocket paperbacks at used book sales: Fiddler’s Fair by Mercedes Lackey (foreground), Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb (bottom of stack) and Doomsday Book (top of stack) by Connie Willis, who authored my second favorite book of 2016, Crosstalk). A friend also loaned me my first Baen book, called Once a Hero by Elizabeth Moon (middle of stack). Which looks awesome.

Netgalley Digital ARCs

And last but certainly not least, this year’s Netgalley haul (so far)! This should carry me through February, at which time I plan to settle down to some backlist reading and perhaps binge read a series.

  • The Bear and the Nightingale by Katharine Arden, Del Rey Jan 10th, 2017. I’m reading this one right now and really enjoying the atmosphere and setting.
  • Future Shock by Elizabeth Briggs, Albert Whitman & Company. This book was actually published in 2016, but the sequel will be available soon and AW&C is offering this first volume on Netgalley. I was so excited to get access because I’ve been eyeing it for a while!
  • Crossroads of Canopy by Thoraiya Dyer, Tor Jan 31, 2017. “At the highest level of a giant forest, thirteen kingdoms fit seamlessly together to form the great city of Canopy. Thirteen goddesses and gods rule this realm and are continuously reincarnated into human bodies.” <-How could I possibly resist a description like that? And when I saw’s Tamora Pierce’s praise, I couldn’t request this one fast enough.
  • Gilded Cage by Vic James, Del Rey Feb 14th, 2017. I think I requested this one largely based on the author’s amazing bio, but the description sounds none too shabby: “For readers of Victoria Aveyard and Kiera Cass comes a darkly fantastical debut set in a modern England where magically gifted aristocrats rule—and commoners are doomed to serve.”
  • Portal of a Thousand Worlds by Dave Duncan, Open Road Integrated Media Science & Fantasy 14th Feb, 2017. I’ve never read anything by Dave Duncan, but I can’t resist Asian fantasies, beautiful covers or titles that promise magic. I’m so so excited to try this one!
  • Autumn Princess, Dragon Child (The Tale of Shikanoko II) & Lord of the Darkwood (The Tale of Shikanoko III) by Lian Hearn. These were published in quick succession last year, but Farrar, Straus & Giroux kindly gave me access after the fact. I actually meant to access only the second book, but I accidentally grabbed the third. So now I have both! Oh darn. I’ve been wishing I’d gotten to these earlier, but since they were already published when I was given access, I decided to wait for a time when I could sit and enjoy them one right after the other. If the first book is anything to judge by, the temptation to binge-reading will be strong!
  • Fata Morgana by Steven R. Boyett & Ken Mitchcroney, Blackstone Publishing 13th June, 2017. “Captain Farley navigates a maze of treachery and wonder—and finds a love seemingly decreed by fate—as his bomber becomes a pawn in a centuries-old conflict between remnants of advanced but decaying civilizations.” The description of this one is tantalizingly vague. I requested it months ago, before that awesome cover was revealed, and I’m growing ever more curious to dive in!

That’s it for this book haul. What did you get for Christmas? I’d love to hear about what you’re excited to read in 2017!

Comments
  1. nikihawkes says:

    Gorgeous haul!! I love all the things, but am especially excited to see you pick up Assassins Apprentice! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jen says:

    What fabulous Christmas presents! And I can’t wait to see what you think of Future Shock! The whole looking into their own fates, how could they not?! Have fun!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Christy Luis says:

      I know, right?! Spot on, Santa! (Christmas lists are wonderful things! 😀 ) I hope you got some great bookish presents too, Jen!!

      Yeah, I can’t wait to dig into Future Shock! The premise sounds so good, and I read an excerpt from the beginning…the voice is very strong and developed *fistpump*

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jen says:

        Yes, I’m so grateful for the bookish presents I got for Christmas. Especially the gift card – I just snagged a few ebooks that were on sale for $0.99 (like Passenger by Alexandra Bracken) yay!

        Oh, that’s so exciting! I hope the rest of the book is just as wonderful as the beginning!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Christy Luis says:

        That’s awesome! Gift cards are the best gifts ever.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Would you look at all those Sanderson books 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s a Brandon Sanderson extravaganza! Looking forward to your reviews!

    Also, nice haul of books. I recently finished The Bear and the Nightingale, and I loved it. I have a feeling everyone will be talking about it in 2017 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Christy Luis says:

      I know, haha….I didn’t realize it until I started taking pictures, but extravaganza is definitely the word for it!

      I’m pretty pumped about The Bear and the Nightingale, too! Can’t wait to read your review! 😀

      Like

  5. There is no better vision than a stack of books waiting to be read – or resting on the shelf after having given us so many delightful hours 🙂 It’s the only think I miss since I went digital with most of my reading (space being indeed the final frontier 😀 ).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

