WWW Wednesday #5

Posted: February 8, 2017 in WWW Wednesday
Tags: ,

background

WWW Wednesday is a weekly MEME hosted by Taking on a World of Words. I got the idea from Socially Awkward Bookworm. The three W’s are these:

What are you currently reading?

What did you recently finish reading?

What do you think you’ll read next?

And I’m adding my own section to this list:

What have you recently reviewed?

Click the book titles for more information about each!

Recently Reviewed

Detecting a theme? 😉

Recently Finished

I just finished up my review of Gilded Cage by UK author Vic James and I’ll be posting it tomorrow!

I got Brandon Sanderson‘s Arcanum Unbounded for Christmas, and I just got the chance to sit down and enjoy the first novella, The Emperor’s Soul. I should be posting the review next week

I picked up Shattered Blue (The Light, #1) by Lauren Bird Horowitz after DNFing Crossroads of Canopy and devoured half of it in one day. I had to set it aside until this weekend, to finish Gilded Cage…which I also ended up DNFing, sadly! It’s a good thing Shattered Blue came in the mail for my library because after two bad ARCs, I needed something really fun. Review coming soon!

Currently Reading

I’m currently re-watching Brandon Sanderson‘s original BYU SFF writing lectures (check it out the whole video roll by Write About Dragons here!), so I’ve been slacking on my audiobooks, lately.

However, I have also been slowly listening to Illuminae (The Illuminae Files, #1)by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. In fact, I was listening to it during a quick store run the other day and suddenly PLOT TWISTS HAPPENED and I ended up listening to it for like an hour while I made and ate lunch, haha. Anyway, I should be finishing that up tomorrow or the next day and reviewing that in a week or so.

I’m currently at 20% of the way through my eARC of Portal of a Thousand Worlds by Dave Duncan and I’m totally loving the humorous, intelligent voice and Chinese atmosphere. Major thanks to Dave Duncan, Open Road Media Science & Fantasy and Netgalley for this imaginative Alternate History eARC!

TBR Next

Next up for ARCs are Autumn Princess, Dragon Child (Tales of Shikanoki #2) & Lord of the Darkwood (Tales of Shikanoko #3) by Lian Hearn. I’ve been majorly anticipating the time when I could sit back and relax with these binge-worthy Asian fantasies. I hope they’re as good as the first installment!

For my freereading, I’m planning to listen to The Eye of the World (Wheel of Time #1) by Robert Jordan (epic fantasies are officially in, on this blog) and enjoy The Two Georges by Richard Dreyfuss and Harry Turtledove for my bedtime reading. I’m writing an alternate history, at the moment, and this one sounds right up my alley. When I have spare moments, I plan to savor more stories from Arcanum Unbounded, as well.

And that’s all for this roundup! Have you read any of these? What are you reading right now, or what are you excited to read next? Link up to my post if you’ve done a roundup recently. I’m always excited to see what blogger buddies are reading!

Comments
  1. I hope you’re enjoying Illuminae! I read a physical copy of that one, but for the sequel I switched to audio – what an experience! I imagine listening to the first one is probably just as amazing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Christy Luis says:

      I did enjoy it! 🙂 The audio version is AMAZING! I just got a copy of the physical version so I could look up a quote, and it looks pretty amazing, too. Sci-fi epistolary = terrific concept!

      Like

  2. I have watched those BYU creative writing lectures a couple of times. I could not believe he put his class online for free like that. I was genuinely impressed with him, and the course. The same goes for his Writing Excuses podcast actually. You get the sense he truly wants to give back, and wants to give every aspiring writer tools to succeed without any thought of how he might profit.

    Now I really have to try TWoK soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Christy Luis says:

      So glad to hear you enjoyed it!! It’s such a good course! I couldn’t believe it was free either 😄 So, so helpful. I took classes in a couple of different colleges and finally ended up with a Bachelor’s in English and Creative Writing, but none of my teachers taught SFF. So Sanderson’s free courses have been a real blessing for me. I’m really looking forward to listening to Writing Excuses, too!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, I so look forward to your review on Illuminae! I *LOVED* the book and I just finished its sequel, Gemina, which is even better.
    And I’m curious to hear your comments about Jordan’s Wheel of Time… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Christy Luis says:

      Ahh, so you’ve read Illuminae, too!? 😀 So glad to hear you enjoyed it! I wanted to read it because so many of my friends loved it! Can’t wait to review it and WoT both…although WoT will be a while in coming, heh. Epics take me a while.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Jen says:

    Shattered Blue looks absolutely gorgeous, I can’t wait to see your thoughts on that book! And ugh, DNFing two book in a row, that’s brutal. I’m sorry! But here’s hoping you love Illuminae!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Christy Luis says:

      Thanks so much, Jen!! Good news: Shattered Blue IS gorgeous (I could stare at that cover all day, haha; and the poetic prose is just as amazing as the cover!) and Illuminae was just as good as I’d heard! Such a relief to find two good ones in row, after those DNFs *phew*

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Alllllll the Brandon Sanderson! Also I loved Illuminae and really need to pick up a copy of it for my library. I’m also due for a re-read of it so I’ll be interested in knowing what you think.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Christy Luis says:

      I’m so excited to finally have read Illuminae because soo many of my friends loved it. It was definitely time, haha. Now I need to read Gemina! (And The Rhithmatist, too, thanks for that recommendation! 😀 )

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Great to see that you’re so excited about Sanderson 🙂 I want to re-read ‘The Way of Kings’ and ‘Words of Radiance’ before the third novel gets published later this year. And I can’t wait!! ‘Elantris’ was the only Sanderson novel I didn’t finish. It was also the one I started with ages ago and I didn’t pick up any more of his novels for a while after it. Until I read and loved the Mistborn Trilogy and EVERYTHING ELSE after that 😀 I am in the middle of ‘Arcanum Unbounded’ at the moment.

    Interested in your opinion on ‘The Wheel of Time’ 🙂 I never really got into it. I tried twice and read up to the third(?) book until I gave up. I couldn’t stand most of the characters.

    Happy reading & listening!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Christy Luis says:

      Yay, another Sanderson fan! 😀 I know, I’m already feeling nostalgic like I want to reread the Stormlight Archives as well! I can’t WAIT for Oathbreaker!! Definitely my most anticipated of 2017. Are you enjoying AA? I loved the first novella and just started the second story!

      Yeah about Wheel of Time… 😅 I haven’t actually started listening yet! I was planning to, and then one of my library audio holds came in, and then I needed to listen to a few nonfiction books…hopefully I’ll get to it soon though bc I keep hearing about it. I feel like I need to form an opinion, haha. Thanks for sharing about yours!

      I hope your next book is awesome!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks! 🙂 I have to admit, I skipped the second story. And I already read ‘The Emperor’s Soul’ a while ago 🙂 I am about to start the third Mistborn short story – I enjoyed them all so far, can’t complain 🙂

        Maybe listening to the ‘Wheel of Time’ is different xD And maybe you will love it – what I know is that there are loooots of different opinions on it^^

        Liked by 1 person

      • Christy Luis says:

        Haha, yeah, since the second story is about Elantris, I don’t blame you for skipping. I enjoyed Elantris, but not everyone did. I hope you love the Mistborn story!! I can’t wait to read the Secret History!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I am almost done with it and realy like it 🙂 it’s an interesting perspective 😉 you can look forward to it!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

