Gilded Cage (Dark Gifts #1) by Vic James

Posted: February 10, 2017 in Book Review, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

gildedcage

“Understanding slid into Luke’s brain and lodged its sharp point there…

‘We’re all going to do our slavedays.’

About :

Luke and Abigail Hadley live like normal teenagers all over Britain until their parents suddenly commit the whole family to their “slave days.” Every British commoner is forced to devote 10 years of service to the magically “Skilled” elite class that rules over Britain, a caste known as the “Equals.” At least the Hadleys manage to score a cushy group deal: all five will serve the richy rich Jardine family on their legendary estate of Kyneston.

At least, that’s what they’re told.

But when the bus arrives, Luke gets marked as “surplus” and sent instead to Millmoor, “Manchester’s filthy, unforgiving slavetown.”

Because in a “state of non-legal personhood,” you have no rights.

You are now chattels of the state.”

Gilded Cage was authored by Vic James and will be published February 14th 2017 by Del Rey Books.

Thoughts :

I requested Gilded Cage mainly hoping to read about the cool “Dark Gifts” of the series title (and based on Vic James’ exciting bio). But the meat of the first 50% focuses instead on the challenges you might find in a British drama. Maybe more like Downtown Abbey? With cruel lords and ladies making life miserable for their butlers, maids and slaves. (I haven’t actually seen much Downtown Abbey, as I don’t watch a lot of tv beyond Cops and 48 Hours, so this guess could be somewhat off.*) The publisher is clearly marketing the book to people who enjoy this sort of story, and I think the target audience would enjoy it more than I did.

I read to 50% before deciding to set it aside.

Why DNF?

The title Gilded Cage perfectly encapsulates the majority of narrative perspectives in this book: Abigail Hadley tells us of life Kyneston; her new masters, the Jardine men, also share their perspectives with us in the first 50%. The “Gilded Cage” refers mainly to a magical wall that surrounds the Kyneston estate, keeping slaves locked inside, although it may also refer to the British society at large that cages its commoners into servitude. So we spend a lot of time in this cage, reading the thoughts of both captors and captives.

This is unfortunate for two reasons: (1) The Jardine men are a largely despicable lot, and (2) Abi’s plot mainly consists of developing feelings for one of them. The plot summary suggests more to her plot, later in the book—she discovers the Jardine family secret and must decide whether to reveal it or not—but I didn’t get that far because I just couldn’t get into the story. The focus stays mainly on domestic and political troubles rather than magical, during the first half, and I had a feeling the focus wasn’t going to change.

But my main problems with Gilded Cage relate to the characters. First of all, I thought there were too many narrators for such a short novel. The first 50% cycles through enough narrators that I don’t remember who they were or how many I met. More importantly, none of the characters feel like authentic people (with the bare exception of Abigail, who feels like a legitimately moony teenaged girl). The Jardine men especially fell flat for me. I had a difficult time buying Silyen’s antisocial brilliance and everyone’s fear of The Young Master. I especially couldn’t believe that the violently angry Gavar cared most in the world about his baby daughter. No amount of Gavar’s POV could convince me of that, after he shot the mother while she held the child in her arms during the prologue. No caring father would do that. The unrealistic psychology and motivations of the Jardine men left me bored and unconvinced.

Luke Hadley is also unfortunately a very wooden character, although his scenes in the slave town of Millmoor are the most exciting to read. Luke takes part in a slave rebellion, and I enjoyed the action scenes in his perspective. Little things in his perspective did make the narrative lose credibility, though, such as when one character gets harnessed up and steps straight off a rooftop, instead of carefully lowering herself down. Ouch! That would give you quite a jolt and likely smash you into the side of the building. I would definitely not recommend doing it thataway.

Overall :

Unfortunately, Gilded Cage doesn’t appeal to the “Fantasy,” “Alternate History” or “British Mystery” parts of me and I couldn’t get into the characters. Very little surprised or interested me about the first 50%. The author focused on Abi’s romantic ambitions or the proceedings of the court of cruel lords when I was hoping for something more magical.

Recommended To :

Readers who like both YA and British dramas. From what the positive reviews are saying, readers appeared to most enjoy the “Britishness” of it. It does feel very British. Lots of class warfare. I can see the Dickensian influence, as another positive review remarked—but only in the class structure and relations. That particular comparison makes me a feel a little sick; Dickens is known for his characterization and this book has terribly un-lifelike characters.

Thank you so much to Vic James, Del Rey and Netgalley for this e-galley!

*In the comments, Maddalena @ Space and Sorcery kindly corrected my misconception about Downtown Abbey: apparently the house staff doesn’t get abused, which is a relief!

Comments
  1. Tammy says:

    Oh darn. I keep reading mixed reviews of this book. But most bloggers I know just didn’t enjoy it that much. I’m supposed to be reading it this month, but the more “meh” reviews I read, the less I feel inclined to pick it up. Too bad it had to be a DNF for you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Christy Luis says:

      Yeah, it’s too bad! 😦 After about 40% of drag, I looked up some of the other reviews and decided, “I’m going to give it to 50%. If I’m not hooked by then, I’ll move on.” A few reviewers seem excited about it, but I have a hard time understanding why. Something about Brits?

      Like

  2. There is a SF tv show I watch where one of the catchphrases is “the warrant is all”, so I’m going to borrow it and say “the character is all” 🙂 No matter how well-structured a story is, if the characters don’t appeal to me, everything falls flat, so I understand your disappointment with this one. Your review is one of those, with similar sentiments, that have considerably cooled my initial enthusiasm for this novel.

    Oh, and as an aside: in Downton Abbey (that I love) no one is cruel to the house staff! 😀 😀
    But from your description, Gilded Cage could be like Downton Abbey from the Mirror Universe….

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jen says:

    I was intrigued by the synopsis of this book, but having too many characters just sounds overwhelming. And I need to be pulled into the story, to feel emotionally attached, and I don’t believe that would happen. So thank you for letting us all know your experience, and here’s hoping your next book is not a DNF and a billion times better!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I had such high hopes for this one, especially since I loved the beginning. I still don’t really know what happened, but around halfway I started losing interest and by the time the book was over, it just left me cold. Didn’t really care for the characters or the story 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    • Christy Luis says:

      I know, I was totally hooked when the family got separated, but then…the POVs kept splitting and I just couldn’t stay invested in it 😦 So sorry to hear you had the same experience with this one!

      Like

  5. IDK, it’s likely just me but even the blurb for this book makes be shudder and not want to read it. It’s likely the subject matter isn’t for me plus with everything you mention I will never pick this up. Though if people read it and love it then that’s great! But it’s not for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Christy Luis says:

      Yeah, it’s a really oppressive world…I was hoping for some lighter elements to improve the situation of the “slaves,” but the rebellion wasn’t THAT exciting, unfortunately, haha.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

