Waiting on Wednesday #1: The Girl With the Red Balloon by Katherine Locke

Posted: March 8, 2017 in Uncategorized, Waiting on Wednesday
Tags: ,

“Waiting On Wednesday” is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine to spotlight upcoming exciting new titles.

I recently decided to request fewer titles from Netgalley, and removing some of that pressure also seems to have increased my anticipation for these upcoming titles; so I also decided to hop on the WoW train!

The Girl with the Red BalloonAnd then I saw Katherine Locke‘s The Girl With the Red Balloon on Netgalley, forthcoming from AW Teen in September 2017 ahhhh! It immediately tested my “requesting resolution”!

I need 😍

Publisher Description:

When sixteen-year-old Ellie Baum accidentally time-travels via red balloon to 1988 East Berlin, she’s caught up in a conspiracy of history and magic. She meets members of an underground guild in East Berlin who use balloons and magic to help people escape over the Wall—but even to the balloon makers, Ellie’s time travel is a mystery. When it becomes clear that someone is using dark magic to change history, Ellie must risk everything—including her only way home—to stop the process.

!!!! Can’t wait to get my hands on this one! Historical/Alt Historical YA is possibly my favorite thing on the planet!

What book are you anticipating this Wednesday?

Comments
  1. Tammy says:

    I would never guess based on this cover that this had any speculative elements to it. Good to know, this sounds really good! Thanks for sharing:-)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. TeacherofYA says:

    Ok that sounds awesome!
    I have enough titles and I need to review them!! Then I might request!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This sounds good! And welcome about the WoW train 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Nathan says:

    Can’t see one red balloon without immediately thinking about 98 more of them.

    Like

  5. Christy Luis says:

    Hah, nice! I think I’ll go listen to that right now, in fact…

    Like

  6. That’s an intriguing premise, and alternate history is something I enjoy: I will have to keep an eye on this one!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Jen says:

    LOL! When there’s a book that you desperately need, request away. 😉 This one sounds really good! I can’t wait to see what you think about The Girl With the Red Balloon.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. nikihawkes says:

    Cool!! This one looks interesting for sure!
    And I totally get the requesting less thing making you more eager. I’ve only one arc out right now, and all the others I made myself wait for their actual releases are taunting me haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Christy Luis says:

      In that case, I’m sure you’re busy “tackling your tbr” ;D Good for you, only one out!! Wow. I’ve have seven, gah! I’m dying to earn that 80% badge!

      Like

Leave a Reply

