Moon Called (Mercy Thompson #1) by Patricia Briggs

Posted: March 11, 2017 in Book Review
Tags: , , , , , , ,

MoonCalled

“I am a walker. The term is derived from ‘skinwalker,’ a witch of the Southwest Indian tribes who uses a skin to turn into a coyote or some other creature.”

About :

Mercedes “Mercy” Thompson runs a Volksvagen garage in Washington and keeps largely to herself. She’s a “walker,” a magical shapeshifter, and she can slip easily into the form of a coyote. Her brand of shapeshifting remains a secret from almost everyone; only the Fae have revealed themselves to the mundane world, and they bear the brunt of significant persecution. As a result, the werewolves, vampires and other supernatural spooks stay underground—and Mercy prefers to do the same. It’s just easier.

But Mercy’s connections with the local magical presence are finally coming around to “bite” her. When a runaway werewolf appears in her garage asking for a temporary position, Mercy gives him a job and hooks him up with the local werewolf pack leader, Adam, who is also her sexy neighbor. But somebody is looking for the runway—and they don’t mind confronting Mercy or Adam to do it. Walker and werewolf race the clock to find the man behind the mystery before more innocents suffer. Moon Called is Paranormal Romance/Urban Fantasy written by Patricia Briggs and published January 31st 2006 by Ace.

Thoughts :

I picked up the first of the Mercy Thompson series because I’ve been wanting to get a better feel for Urban Fantasy, and Niki over at The Obsessive Bookseller told me it was a great place to start. (Thanks Niki! 🙂 ) I also love reading about Native American cultures, so of course I had to start with this series. It sucked me in immediately with the introduction of the runaway and, no joke, the “inciting incident” made me cry! (I’m totally a crier 😋)

Because the cast of this first installment remains relatively small, readers easily get to know everybody. In Mercy we find both a pleasant person and a decent heroine—hardworking and easy to like, lacking gimmicks to rub readers the wrong way. I do wish she had some chick friends (although I like all her guy friends, too). But I enjoyed hearing about her Native family history and how her father was a Walker.

I listened to Moon Called alongside reading an eARC of Melissa F. Olson’s Midnight Curse, so it was fun to compare the two books as I get to know the genre:

Midnight Curse has a stronger mystery element than Moon Called and I enjoyed guessing at the twists. Midnight Curse’s characters also really got to me, as evidenced in my IMPASSIONED REVIEW, haha. But the romance arc kept me from loving Midnight Curse or wanting to continue that particular series (although I’ll definitely consider trying a future new series by this talented author).

As for Moon Called, I just plain liked everything about it! Although nothing blew me away in this first installment (it is a first installment, after all, and only 288 pgs), nothing repelled me either, and Briggs develops the worldbuilding impressively well for such a short volume. It thoroughly introduces the werewolf world, and I’m looking forward to exploring more. (The second book sounds like it might tackle the vampires.) Although I didn’t follow the mystery as well, that could be in part due to the nature of the audio experience. I prefer a book like this as my intro to a series, I think.

And the thing that topped off Moon Called, for me, is the great narrator, Lorelei King. I’m always amazed when one narrator can pull off a whole cast so well.

Overall :

I enjoyed pretty much everything about this short and sweet audiobook. I actually felt rested after finishing it. Just something nice and fast with a fun world to inhabit for a few hours. I’m definitely planning to continue the series.

Plot: 3 Stars
Characters: 3.5 Stars
Worldbuilding: 4.5 Stars
Audio: 5 Stars

****4/5 STARS

Recommended To :

Anyone looking for a quick start to a new Paranormal Romance/Urban Fantasy series. I would say this tends more towards the “paranormal romance” side of the spectrum, although the romance is largely a background element of this first installment; but the romantic tensions swirl beneath the surface of Mercy’s interactions with the two male werewolves in her life. So if that sounds like fun, I bet you’ll enjoy Moon Called!

Comments
  1. Tammy says:

    I feel like I’m the last person alive who hasn’t read Patricia Briggs! So glad you loved this, one of these days I’m going to tackle her books.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Christy Luis says:

      No worries, I feel the same way about a million other things haha. It’ll be a nice treat for when you have some time to relax 😀

      Like

  2. Nathan says:

    See, I thought the book was fine if not overwhelming. But I really didn’t like the audio narrator. Just like certain male narrators do a horrible job at women’s voices (the guy who does River’s of London has a horrible falsetto) I found King tried to hard to make her men ‘manly.’ THrough me from trying her again.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Christy Luis says:

      Aw, that’s too bad! I think I most appreciated her interpretation of Mercy, portraying her as a very level-headed woman used to dealing with dominant males (unlike that cover, haha). I also liked her interpretation of young males like Mac. But I can see how you might not like the audio if you didn’t enjoy her interpretation of the males at large, considering they make up most of the cast! Drat!

      Like

  3. Sweet! I kinda felt the same way about this first book. To be honest though, if my library hadn’t had the whole series available to borrow in audio (I do like narrator Lorelai King), I might not have continued after this one, but I’m so glad I did! I think things pick up big time after book 2 or 3, and then River Marked pretty much sealed my love for this series 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Christy Luis says:

      Yeah, I think this series would have fallen by the wayside, for me, if the audios weren’t available. *thankful for libraries* Everyone says it gets better, so I’m excited to keep going with it 😀

      Like

  4. Here is another of those series I seriously need to start – possibly before the next decade… 😀
    I’m glad to hear that, as the first volume of a long-running saga, this one works well and lets you ease into the general background without too much effort – and I love the idea of skinwalkers!

    Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. TeacherofYA says:

    I’m not a big Urban Fantasy reader but maybe I should try some!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Jen says:

    I’ve had this book on my kindle for years, so I’m happy to see that you enjoyed it as much as you did! I’m definitely interested to see what you think of the next book, if it pulls you in deeper and becomes addicting or whether your like level stays the same. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Christy Luis says:

      Thanks Jen 😀 It’s a good start to the series so I’m pretty excited to see where it goes, too! I hope your reading is going well this week!

      Like

Leave a Reply

