Waiting On Wednesday #2: Thick as Thieves (The Queen’s Thief #5) by Megan Whalen Turner

Posted: March 15, 2017 in Waiting on Wednesday
Tags:

“Waiting On Wednesday” is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine to spotlight exciting upcoming titles.

thickasthievesAfter turning a quarter century old this week, I decided to share my excitement about the newest installment of a series that has grown up alongside me: Thick as Thieves, book V of Megan Whalen Turner‘s “Queen’s Thief” series of Mediterranean ya high fantasies. We get a new Queen’s Thief novel from Ms. Turner every five or six years–the last was published in 2010–and they’re always stunningly worth the wait. (Every installment has won awards, some including the Newbery, Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature and several others.) Did you see the new covers for the series? Because WOW! 😀

Publisher Description

Kamet, a secretary and slave to his Mede master, has the ambition and the means to become one of the most powerful people in the Empire. But with a whispered warning the future he envisioned is wrenched away, and he is forced onto a very different path. Set in the world of the Queen’s Thief, an ordinary hero takes on an extraordinary mission. Includes two maps, a map of the world of the Queen’s Thief, and a map of Kamet’s journey. Expected publication: May 16th 2017 by Greenwillow Books. YA high fantasy.

I may have to go on an audio-binge of the series to prepare for this. It’s definitely one of my most highly anticipated releases of 2017!

What book are you anticipating this Wednesday? What’s your most highly anticipated releases of 2017?

 

Advertisements
Comments
  1. TeacherofYA says:

    Should I check this series out then? 😏

    Liked by 1 person

    • Christy Luis says:

      Lol Hm, lemme think, YES!! 😋 It’s so twisty and romantic and wonderful! The first book is really short and feels a little younger, but great setting and twists. And oh my…the third especially is one of my all time fave ya’s. I see you’re reading Robin McKinley- Megan Whelan Turner writes in a similar vein. Which is the “amazing” vein lol

      Like

  2. Bookstooge says:

    Congrats on getting wiser and more mature!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Now what’s this? Looks good! I can’t believe I’ve never heard of this series, especially since it’s been around for so long. Even if it can be read as a standalone though, I like to start things at the beginning – book one is definitely on my radar now! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nathan says:

      New series to me too. I like the sound of it though, Mediterranean fantasy? Yes, I may like this.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Christy Luis says:

      She’s one of those authors that flies under the radar, but has a really dedicated fan base. A lot of readers who like Tamora Pierce and Robin McKinley also love Megan Whelan Turner. They’re so good, book 1 included 😀

      Like

  4. nikihawkes says:

    You come up with the coolest titles! Where do you find them all?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Christy Luis says:

      Thanks!! I first learned about this series from a librarian, but most of my tbr comes from other awesome book reviewers like you 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s