Waiting on Wednesday # 8:Provenance by Ann Leckie

Posted: May 3, 2017 in Waiting on Wednesday
Tags:

provenance

“Waiting On Wednesday” is a weekly meme that was hosted by Breaking the Spine to spotlight exciting upcoming titles.

Somehow I managed to entirely miss out on Leckie’s Ancillary series, despite the buzz, so I was really excited to hear about her upcoming release, Provenance! It sounds like it might be part of a new cycle where I can jump in and be part of the fun.

Goodreads Description

Following her record-breaking debut trilogy, Ann Leckie, winner of the Hugo, Nebula, Arthur C. Clarke and Locus Awards, returns with an enthralling new novel of power, theft, privilege and birthright.

A power-driven young woman has just one chance to secure the status she craves and regain priceless lost artifacts prized by her people. She must free their thief from a prison planet from which no one has ever returned.

Ingray and her charge will return to her home world to find their planet in political turmoil, at the heart of an escalating interstellar conflict. Together, they must make a new plan to salvage Ingray’s future, her family, and her world, before they are lost to her for good. Provenance is adult sci-fi by Anne Leckie. Expected publication: September 26th 2017 by Orbit.

Comments
  1. Nathan says:

    I learned this was coming about a month ago and have not really stopped screaming since. I am so happy!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Ah, her Ancillary trilogy was really cool! Not something I would normally read though, but I managed to complete all three books. So, that’s why I am still torn on whether or not to read this when it comes out, but it does sound very interesting. I guess I will decide closer to release date! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Christy Luis says:

      How interesting, I would have thought it would be right up your alley! Your comment made me super curious so I just had to go read your review. I think I’ve actually read it before and it made me nervous about whether I was getting in over my head with Leckie 😅 I guess we’ll see and hope for the best!! It does sound so interesting…

      Like

  3. Sadly, the first book in the Ancillary trilogy did not work for me – one of the cases where I move contrary to the majority of readers. And yet I kept hearing great things about this author, so this new novel might be the right one to try again: maybe with a different background… who knows?
    Thank you for showcasing this! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Christy Luis says:

      Uh oh, you’re the second trusted reviewer to say that on this post 🤔 Well, I guess I’ll hope for the best with the new setting, as you said *crossing fingers*!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. nikihawkes says:

    Oooh! So it’s separate? I’ve been meaning to give this author a try. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

