Waiting on Wednesday #9: Roar by Cora Carmack

Posted: May 10, 2017 in Waiting on Wednesday
Tags:

Roar Carmack

“Waiting On Wednesday” is a weekly meme that was hosted by Breaking the Spine to spotlight exciting upcoming titles.

2017 promises several interesting ya speculative releases, one of which is Roar by Cora Carmack. The premise sounds awesome and I really enjoyed the preview excerpt in Buzz Books! *crossing fingers* that we can judge the book by its fabulous cover!

Goodreads Description

In a land ruled and shaped by violent magical storms, power lies with those who control them.

Aurora Pavan comes from one of the oldest Stormling families in existence. Long ago, the ungifted pledged fealty and service to her family in exchange for safe haven, and a kingdom was carved out from the wildlands and sustained by magic capable of repelling the world’s deadliest foes. As the sole heir of Pavan, Aurora’s been groomed to be the perfect queen. She’s intelligent and brave and honorable. But she’s yet to show any trace of the magic she’ll need to protect her people.

To keep her secret and save her crown, Aurora’s mother arranges for her to marry a dark and brooding Stormling prince from another kingdom. At first, the prince seems like the perfect solution to all her problems. He’ll guarantee her spot as the next queen and be the champion her people need to remain safe. But the more secrets Aurora uncovers about him, the more a future with him frightens her. When she dons a disguise and sneaks out of the palace one night to spy on him, she stumbles upon a black market dealing in the very thing she lacks—storm magic. And the people selling it? They’re not Stormlings. They’re storm hunters.

Legend says that her ancestors first gained their magic by facing a storm and stealing part of its essence. And when a handsome young storm hunter reveals he was born without magic, but possesses it now, Aurora realizes there’s a third option for her future besides ruin or marriage.

She might not have magic now, but she can steal it if she’s brave enough.

Challenge a tempest. Survive it. And you become its master. Roar is ya high fantasy authored by Cora Carmack. Hardcover, 384 pages. Expected publication: June 13th 2017 by Tor Teen.

Comments
  1. Tammy says:

    I’m so excited for this book too! Plus lots of positive reviews already on Goodreads:-)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Christy Luis says:

      Ooh, I’ll have to check them out!! I did notice that the overall rating is pretty excitingly high! Anything 4+ is usually a good sign…:D

      Like

  2. TeacherofYA says:

    I’m on the Street Team and this book has gotten so many good reviews from the members! I think you’ll like it! (I still need to read it)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Christy Luis says:

      I know, I saw your button!! So exciting! Do you get to talk to the author or enter giveaways or something like that? What does the Street Team do?

      Liked by 1 person

      • TeacherofYA says:

        Oh, it’s so cool. I’ve never been on a prolific street team like this before. We are in a FB group with Cora and we do little mini-challenges for prizes…we each got a physical ARC and poster….I won a carved copy of the map on wood from a giveaway and then our group won our choice of swag and I picked a canvas print of the cover to hang on my wall! There’s a new challenge that we get necklaces from, and someone was asking if we can be given gift bags! They are so generous! It’s like a dream to be part of such an elite street team. (I keep pinching myself!)

        Liked by 1 person

        • Christy Luis says:

          You deserve it!! You’re such a great blogger ;D Congrats on making it in, it sounds like a dream come true!

          Liked by 1 person

          • TeacherofYA says:

            It is!! lol I never thought I was a good blogger, but only if you say so!! I trust your judgment (you’re not under the influence, right? 🤔) so I appreciate your support. You were a blogger I looked up to, so I get it from you! 😘

            Liked by 1 person

            • Christy Luis says:

              Awww 😅😊 Thanks, Steph!! That’s so sweet of you to say. Your blog is just so much fun, and your devotion to your friends (authors & bloggers!) is inspiring. Keep it up!

              Like

  3. I’m trying not to get too hyped for this book, but I can’t help it! There are so many good reviews already so I’m pretty optimistic. So excited 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. nikihawkes says:

    I’m especially interested in this one because doesn’t Cormac usually write new adult?? And now she’s infusing fantasy with those excellent relationship-writing skills? I’m very intrigued…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Christy Luis says:

      EXACTLY!! 😀 I’m crossing my fingers that the cast will be as rich as Veronica Rossi’s characters, since they both write NA & YA.

      Btw, have you read much NA? I haven’t really ventured into the genre, but I’d love to try a SFF specimen…I’ll admit, I’m a little nervous about the “heat” to just wade right in lol

      Liked by 1 person

      • nikihawkes says:

        Ooh!! I didn’t realize Rossi wrote NA. Ima look those up haha. Thanks! I’ve been told that I’m a “novice NA reader” based on the books I loved. Which was kind of like saying “awwww… it’s so cute you think those are good” Lol. I read Aguirre’s 2B trilogy, because I loved her other work, and loved it. I also liked the beautiful disaster book by maguire. The next one I’ll read is probably slammed by Hoover. Before I heard they were called New Adult, I was calling them “robust romances” haha. They generally have much more substance to their plots and I definitely prefer them to romance in general. And I can’t help you there – I liked the “heat” haha. 😱☺️ a SFF would be epic. I think you’ll either love it, or be laughing you butt off the entire way through. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • Christy Luis says:

          LOL!!!!!!! Oh man, “robust romances”! Okay, I’ve heard a lot about Colleen Hoover, so I think I’ll start there. (+ Rossi’s series, which sounds super cute 😍 Planning to listen to it soon!) I just listened to a “romantic suspense” by Sandra Brown and I enjoyed the relationship and the “suspense part,” but the sex scenes–or at least the male lead’s perspective about said sex scenes–made me laugh. So. Hard. So now I’m not entirely sure it will be my thing?? But at the same time, Sarah Dessen’s teen romances were my fave, growing up! I loooove complex relationships! And it seems like romance writers of all stripes love them, too, so I’m positive that there’s something out there I’ll love, if only I can find it! #noviceNAreaderproblems lol It feels weird to be so inexperienced in a genre, again, which tells me I need to “get out more” lol. Thank you so much for for your advice 😀

          Liked by 1 person

          • nikihawkes says:

            Hahaha oh, that’s funny! Well, I guess if you’re laughing, your enjoying? I think Hoover is a great place to start! I could also definitely use that hashtag, lol.

            Liked by 1 person

            • Christy Luis says:

              Oh, I totally loved the book! I just kept hoping my husband wouldn’t overhear the, er, steamier sections lol He’d roll his eyes so hard, they’d get stuck in the back of his head! If you’d seen his expression when I was listening to Shadow’s Edge, and Kylar started complaining about the bodily consequences of Elene’s enforced chastity…😂 🤣 He now teases me about reading smut lol Oh, well. What travails we readers suffer *dramatic pose*

              Like

  5. I’ve heard great things about this book! I can’t wait to read it!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Nathan says:

    I will be the one waiting for reviews from trusted friends first.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Christy Luis says:

      I’m sure you’ll be hearing from lots very soon, since it comes out next month! I’m going to give it a shot, for sure (I usually like to try Tor’s YAs), but sometimes they get a teensy bit overhyped…so I’m still a little nervous, tbh 🤣

      Like

  7. Black market magic? People who *steal* it to become powerful?
    That’s some amazing premise indeed! And a book to keep on one’s “watch” list… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Jen says:

    I’m looking forward to this book too! And while I’m not usually one who critiques book covers, this one is absolutely stunning! Wow! Here’s hoping the inside is addicting, action packed, and with an intriguing cast, fingers crossed!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Christy Luis says:

      Yes, agreed on all accounts!!! Hoping so hard 😀 And I LOVE how the lighting of the cover is so reminiscent of a storm. So appropriate!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jen says:

        YES! With her dress blowing from the storm and the gorgeous clouds and lighting in the background, it’s so beautiful! Here’s hoping we both love!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment