Waiting on Wednesday # 4: Oathbringer (The Stormlight Archive #3) by Brandon Sanderson

Posted: March 29, 2017 in Waiting on Wednesday
Tags:

Oathbringer

“Waiting On Wednesday” is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine to spotlight exciting upcoming titles.

My most highly anticipated book of 2017. ‘Nuff said.

Goodreads Description

In Oathbringer, the third volume of the New York Times bestselling Stormlight Archive, humanity faces a new Desolation with the return of the Voidbringers, a foe with numbers as great as their thirst for vengeance.

Dalinar Kholin’s Alethi armies won a fleeting victory at a terrible cost: The enemy Parshendi summoned the violent Everstorm, which now sweeps the world with destruction, and in its passing awakens the once peaceful and subservient parshmen to the horror of their millennia-long enslavement by humans. While on a desperate flight to warn his family of the threat, Kaladin Stormblessed must come to grips with the fact that the newly kindled anger of the parshmen may be wholly justified.

Nestled in the mountains high above the storms, in the tower city of Urithiru, Shallan Davar investigates the wonders of the ancient stronghold of the Knights Radiant and unearths dark secrets lurking in its depths. And Dalinar realizes that his holy mission to unite his homeland of Alethkar was too narrow in scope. Unless all the nations of Roshar can put aside Dalinar’s blood-soaked past and stand together―and unless Dalinar himself can confront that past―even the restoration of the Knights Radiant will not prevent the end of civilization.

Comments
  1. Nathan says:

    I actually think I have decided to just be done with this series. I read the first two mostly to stay ‘in the know’ and would have continued if he could keep the page count down some. But I don’t have another 1000 pages of Sanderson in my these days.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Christy Luis says:

      You’re right, it does build veeeery slowly! Huge time commitment. I loved every minute of it and felt like I read it at a faster speed because of that, but if it’s not your jam, then I’m sure it doesn’t feel the same way Lol

      Like

  2. Oh boy oh boy oh boy I am sooooo excited for this! I am glad it’s going to squeak in before the end of 2017, making it one of my most anticipated releases of the year too, for sure!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Christy Luis says:

      I can’t believe this guy, publishing Arcanum Unbounded and Snapshot AND Oathbringer in one year (and probably other stuff to, knowing him). It’s a good time to be alive 😂

      Like

  3. Tammy says:

    I really need to get my act together and start this series!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Christy Luis says:

      I know, it’s so hard to fit in epic fantasies when you’re a busy reviewer! Well, at least you have plenty of time to catch up before the series finale Lol

      Like

  4. nikihawkes says:

    Yaaaassssss!!!! I’m hoping to have time for a reread of the first two before this one. November is going to be amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Christy Luis says:

      I know, I’m going to have to take the month off as soon as I get my copy Lol.

      Liked by 1 person

      • nikihawkes says:

        I’m looking to spend most of thanksgiving break reading it. I hope my family isn’t too offended haha. At least my mom will be reading it right there with me.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Christy Luis says:

          XD That’s awesome! Did you get her into it? I should get my mom into it…she got me in LOTR when I was a kid Lol It’s only fair I repay the favor!

          Liked by 1 person

          • nikihawkes says:

            She got me into the genre in general (thanks mom!!) but I think we read WoK for book club. She’s definitely my favorite reading partner in crime haha. You should totally repay the favor!

            Liked by 1 person

            • Christy Luis says:

              That is so cool! I know, I was looking forward to reading the Way of Shadows trilogy with the book club, but someone is holding on to the ONLY available library copy of book II and I can’t get it Lol. *shakes fist* I may just have to buy it. Anyway, yes, WoK would be an awesome choice for the book club, esp. on a Stormlight release year 😀 We can draw more readers into our Sanderson Cult Lol

              Liked by 1 person

              • nikihawkes says:

                Oh no!!! Haha dang them! That’s the worst – I waited a whole 4 months for a book because people don’t return books when they’re finished with them. So aggravating!! I liked that trilogy, but, speaking of dark subject matter… lol it was kind of a doozy. And the more Sanderson fanatics, the happier the world would be.

                Like

  5. When I finally will start reading Sanderson (and with this series!) after waiting for a long time before taking the plunge, it will be mostly because of your enthusiastic comments… 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Christy Luis says:

      That’s a reviewer’s dream to hear!!! Lol THANK YOU for telling me that! And I hope you can find some time to fit him in. He’s so imaginative and his characters…I just love them *happy sigh*

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment